2 Comments

Saluting Annie Grimes, 1st African American female Marine Officer

Annie Grimes (left) and Betty Mosley Brown, WMA Treasurer.

Besides being a pioneer as the first African American female Marine Officer, Annie Grimes was the first black female officer to retire after a full 20-year career.

2 comments on “Saluting Annie Grimes, 1st African American female Marine Officer

  1. […] more: Saluting Annie Grimes, 1st African American female Marine Officer … Filed Under: ArticlesTagged: annie, betty, betty-mosley, brown, grimes, marine, marine-officer, […]

  2. Hello,

    I was a “First Timer” at the WMA 2010 Convention in Denver. I joined the WMA in November 2009 (FL-6 Gators).

    I was so excited and proud when I was introduced to Officer Grimes. There I was, staring history in the face and saying to myself “I am shaking the hand of the First Black Female Officer in the United States Marine Corps”. I can’t begin to express how honored I was to be in the presence of one of our pioneers. She is graceful, elegant and so cheerful.

    When she attended the dance, she sat at my table. This was another proud moment for me. All the ladies tried to get her on the dance floor but she wasn’t hearing it. She just smiled and laughed as everyone else got up and did their thing. She was having fun just watching us.

    I am still bragging about my”Walk Through Time”. I have such wonderful memories and pictures that I’m sharing with my friends and family.

    I am so proud to be one of the Few, the Proud, a Marine.

    Office Grimes, it was a pleasure meeting you. I truly and sincerely salute you with lots of love.

    I also want to Thank Denver for a great time.

Leave a Reply

